Captain Cook's Cottage is a cottage rebuilt in the picturesque Fitzroy Gardens to commemorate the voyages of Captain James Cook, discoverer of Australia.
Captain Cook's Cottage was originally built in 1755 in Great Ayton Yorkshire England and purchased in 1933 by Sir Russell Grimwade as a centenary gift to the people and State of Victoria.
When Melbourne celebrated its centenary in 1934 the cottage was moved, brick by brick from Great Ayrton to Melbourne. It was shipped in 253 crates complete with a ivy cutting which had grown on the original building. Today the house is covered by the ivy.source
The statue was originally commissioned by the Endeavour Hills Housing Estate. However in 1997 the statue was donated to the City of Melbourne and placed outside Cook's Cottage in July of the same year.